1975 Marion Giants Basketball Team

1975 Marion Giants Basketball TeamThe 1974-75 Marion Giant Basketball team was the first Giant squad to win the state since the legendary Stretch Murphy led the Giants to the state title in 1926. The Champion Giants, under Hall of Fame Coach, Bill Green, had their entire starting five back from the previous season in Rob Acord, Bill Lester, Kevin Pearson, Doug Harris, and David Colescott. Seniors Cregg Baumbaugh, Mike Flynn, and David Peak, along with underclassmen, Jess Alumbaugh, Tuffy Jackson, Ray Myers, Joe Neal, and Rob Oatess contributed to the success of this amazing team. The deep experience in this group of players catapulted them to a 16 game winning streak, only to be defeated by Fort Wayne Snider in early February. After that loss, the Giants began another winning streak culminating with a 58-46 win over Loogootee in the State Finals at Market Square Arena. This ended an extraordinary season with an overall record of 28-1. The season's accomplishments included a Holiday Tournament Championship, NCC Championship, and most - - importantly, the State Championship. It was a wild Saturday night in Marion at the Athletic Arena as more than 10,000 exuberant fans were on hand to welcome the Giants home. The 75 Giants began a run of 13 straight regional titles still an all time IHSAA tourney record.